“I often forget what I have to say and it’s impacting my career.”

Joya Dass
3 min readMar 17, 2021

A video viewer writes in asking advice on better public speaking.

Photo by Chris Montgomery on Unsplash

E saw my video on “Practicing public speaking by yourself” and wrote asking if I also trained men. He has always been shy around big audiences. Now with life on Zooms and webcams, he often forgets what he has to say, his voice shakes and it’s starting to affect his prospects for advancing at work. What would I advise? Eddie. Your email address didn’t come through so I’m sharing the answer here.

My advice is to tell a story. A personal story.

A general manager at one of my first television stations once said to me, “Joya stop being what you think a TV anchor should be and just be yourself. You are the most unique thing you bring to the table.”

If you are explaining a concept, Eddie, tell a story to illustrate what you mean. The more personal the story is, the easier it is to tell. Because, guess what? It’s YOUR story.

Here’s an example: I could tell you, “I’m an organized packer when I go on a trip.”

Or I could tell you

“I create an Excel sheet each time I travel. At the top of each column is the day of the week and the activity for the day. In each row is what I am going to wear. This way, I don’t forget the sports bra, hat, sneakers and sunblock for my Thursday hike in Red Rock Canyon. I don’t forget the strapless bra, earrings, evening purse for the sleeveless gown I’m wearing to Friday night Black tie dinner.” Now I’ve SHOWED YOU I am organized, versus telling you. See the difference?

Prepare. Prepare. Prepare.

Know your material forwards and backwards Eddie. Practice in front of a friend. Practice in front of the mirror. Preparation trumps any thing any day.

Record a daily video blog.

Record yourself for one minute each day. Do a thought dump into your phone. Share what went well. Share what didn’t go well. Just for one minute. Get used to speaking into a screen and seeing yourself.

Breathe.

Pull air from your diaphragm. Pull through your nose. Notice how the quality of air is different when you pull from your diaphragm versus your chest area.

Bullet points.

I have been on television for 20 years, but I STILL bullet point my salient points and keep it in front of me. This is the case when I do a video. This is the case when I am in a meeting. Our nerves can get the best of us, but a quick glance down at a bullet point, can rejigger the memory. Now we can get back on track quickly. Hope this helps Eddie!

I head up a leadership movement for South Asian executive women. I teach leadership through powerful public speaking. DM me info@ladydrinks.com or go to www.joyadass.com

--

--

Joya Dass

If you have a goal and want the steps to make it your reality, I have a solution. www.joyadass.com