TELLING SOUTH ASIAN WOMEN’S STORIES: Dipti Mehta

Joya Dass
2 min readMay 14, 2016

--

LadyDrinks presents one South Asian female professional’s story each day in the lead up to the DEVI STORY LAB Thursday, June 23rd. Buy tix here.

Today, we feature Dipti Mehta, Actor and Playwright.

Growing up, “breaking the rules” was my middle name.

I am a Rajasthani girl so I was fighting strong patriarchal forces.

Once I talked back to one of the son-in-laws in the family and was punished.

But I wanted to challenge the traditional thinking of families in India. There is so much fear around letting a girl grow, learn, and experience new things. It’s baseless. I wanted them to see that I can be a feminist and still honor family values. I can still be a mother, a wife and a daughter and be held in high regard. I wanted daughters to fly as much as the sons, and not be suppressed.

I was called “Kala Tikka” many times by my family.

I made a choice to go to the United States and get my PhD. I was the first girl in my community to do it, and, might I add, without any help from my family.

Today I make a living as a scientist full time. It pays the bills. But I’m an actor at heart. It’s what I’m good at. Back in India, I was a successful FM radio jockey in Mumbai and a theater, TV, film actor. I’d rather be a full time artist here in the US too.

Back home, I was rejected because I was a outspoken girl. Here, I’m rejected by casting agents because i’m considered ‘too ethnic.’ As a minority, I qualify for fewer roles. I wish my full potential could be recognized. I have so many stories to tell. Stories that need to be told.

I want to fly. But sometimes I feel so much weight on my wings.

--

--

Joya Dass

If you have a goal and want the steps to make it your reality, I have a solution. www.joyadass.com